Philip Browne crowned Dublin Snooker Champion 2024 sponsored by Ink Spot

The DBSL would like to congratulate “The Finisher” Philip Browne, of Roadstone A, on winning the inaugural Dublin Scratch Championships, sponsored by Ink Spot, held in Roadstone Snooker Club this weekend. Philip crowned himself the Dublin number 1 player after beating George O’Hara in the Final. George himself has been in fine form as of late, after already making headlines, getting back to back centuries in his league match during the week.

Philip started the tournament very strong, beating Willows B’s Paddy Brady 3-0 in his last 16 match before taking on his fellow team mate Brendan Thomas, of Roadstone A, and beating him 3-1 in the Quarter Final.

Moving on to the Semi Final, Philip faced Andrew Doherty of Willows A, where he got off to a great start and led 2-0 quickly. Andrew had other ideas and fought back strongly taking the match to a tense 2-2 decider. However, Philip re-grouped and steadied himself to win the match 3-2.

Philip progressed to the Final and took his solid form with him, where he faced the Century Man of the Moment, George O’Hara, of Roadstone E. The Finisher proved to be too strong on the day for George and took the title with a fast and impressive 3-0 win, earning the title for 2024.

George’s route to the final saw him beat Tony Kenny, of Roadstone C, 3-2 in a nail biting last 16 match, before taking down Ivor Fitzpatrick, of Pioneer’s Blue, 3-1 in the Quarter Final and George Murphy, of Roadstone B, 3-0 in the Semi Final.

DBSL would also like to thank Tournament Director Stephen Merrigan and Niall Lawless, and the Roadstone Snooker Club for their fine hospitality throughout the day, and especially for extending the time frame to facilitate the latter matches on the same day. DBSL would also like to give a special thanks and mention to the sponsor of the event, Ink Spot.

Full details of the event below.

Winner: Philip Browne


Winner and Runner Up: Philip Browne and George O’Hara


Semi Finalists: George Murphy and George O’Hara


Semi Finalists: Philip Browne and Andrew Doherty



Pre Lim
Brendan Murphy 1 v 3 Paddy Brady
Kevin O'Brien 3 v 2 Tony O'Connor
Joey Kenny 2 v 3 Brian O'Rourke
Dylan Carey 3 v 1 Niall Lawless
Sean King 3 v 0 Pat Smullen
Andrew Harvey 0 v 3 Daniel McNamee
Paul Arnold 1 v 3 George Murphy
Peter Conroy 3 v 1 Dehna Bennett
Tony Kenny 3 v 0 Harry Morgan
Last 16
Philip Browne 3 v 0 Paddy Brady
Brendan Thomas 3 v 0 Kevin O'Brien
Ronan Deegan 0 v 3 Brian O'Rourke
Andrew Doherty 3 v 1 Dylan Carey
George O'Hara 3 v 2 Tony Kenny
Ivor Fitzpatrick 3 v 1 Peter Conroy
George Murphy 3 v 1 Daniel McNamee
Philip O'Connor 2 v 3 Sean King
Quarter Finals
Philip Browne 3 v 1 Brendan Thomas
Brian O'Rourke 2 v 3 Andrew Doherty
George O'Hara 3 v 1 Ivor Fitzpatrick
George Murphy 3 v 2 Sean King
Semi Finals
Philip Browne 3 v 2 Andrew Doherty
George O'Hara 3 v 0 George Murphy
Philip Browne 3 v 0 George O'Hara

High Breaks

Player Break
Ivor Fitzpatrick 62
George O'Hara 58
Philip Browne 52

Event details
Venue: Roadstone: Saturday
Entrance Fee: 20 Euro entry fee includes table charges
Format: All matches are best of 5
Time: 10.00am start
Dress code: Trousers and polo neck shirt