Category: News

All systems go for the All Ireland Club Champs 2022

Below is a message from Con O’Sullivan regarding the all Ireland Club Championships 2022. DBSL will monitor the situation over the next few weeks and advise accordingly.

Hi all,
Following a meeting today with the GlenEagle Hotels covid officer, I am glad to inform you all that its all systems go for the All-Ireland Snooker Club C/ships in January.
Obviously there are guidelines for us to follow, and I’m going to detail them here as much as possible for your information. If there’s something I’ve overlooked, feel free to ask and I’ll get the answer for you.

All venues and bars HAVE to be vacated by 12 midnight. Last orders in the bars will be strictly 11.30pm for residents only.

When players/supporters arrive at the Glen Eagle reception to check-in, part of the checking in process is the covid compliance desk where you will be asked for your vaccination passport and an up-to-date valid ID OR a HSE letter of proof of recovery from covid dated within the prior 6 month period.
There are NO exceptions to this. You can only be issued with the appropriate wristband if you are staying in the Glen Eagle Hotel complex and meet the above criteria.

All residents meeting this criteria will be issued with a specific wristband that will be worn permanently during your stay at the hotel during the championships.

Entry to the snooker venues will be manned by covid compliance officers and will be strictly enforced, in that anybody not displaying the dedicated wristband will be refused entry. The snooker venues will only be accessible to residents of the Glen Eagle complex displaying the appropriate wristband, be they players or supporters.

Hopefully this clears up most of the questions ye had about the championships.

Keep yerselves safe and healthy, and I look forward to meeting you all in January at the 2022 All-Ireland Snooker Club Championships.

Con o Sullivan
Tournament Director.

Philip Browne and Brendan Murphy make the last 16 of the Irish Amateur Championships

Congratulations to Philip Browne, of Roadstone A, and Brendan Murphy, of Darcy McGees B, who both qualified from the Dublin Region for the last 16 of the Irish Amateur Snooker Championships. The Championships will be staged in the new SBI HQ Academy of Excellence in Carlow on the 18th -19th of December. DBSL would like to wish both players the very best of luck.

COVID 19 – DBSL Leagues season 19/20 Cancelled

Unfortunately due to the ongoing restrictions due to the Corona virus the DBSL has made the decision to cancel the remainder of the league season, all league results for this season will be void and we hope to restart the new season in September 2020.
We hope all players and their families are keeping safe and well and we look forward to seeing you all in September.

Dublin Club Championship – March 14th and 15th

The Dublin club championships take place on Saturday/Sunday March 14th/15th this years tournament has been provisionally scheduled for two days as previous tournaments have run very late.
01. Teams are made up of 4 players (2 subs allowed)
02. Entry fee is €40.00 per team this includes all table charges
03. This is a handicapped tournament each player is individually handicapped all handicaps are available on the website
04. The first round is played in groups with the top 2 from each group qualifying for the knock out stages
05. In the knock out stages if the match finishes 2-2 the two players put in at number four will play a one frame shoot out to decide the winner
06. Teams can be mixed from any league team from within their club But must be from the Same club
07. Dress code: Trousers long sleeve shirts and shoes.
08. Closing date for entries is 2:00pm on Thursday March 12th

Tommy Murphy Wins DBSL Series 3

Congratulations to Tommy Murphy, of Darcy McGees D, winner of the DBSL Handicap Tournament Series 3. Tommy beat George Murphy, of Roadstone B, 2-0 in the final. Tommy beat Ivor Fitzpatrick of Pioneers 2-1 in a close semi final. The other semi final saw George Murphy beat Liam Brady of Darcy McGees B 2-0.
DBSL would like to thank Roadstone Snooker Club and Stephen Merrigan, tournament director, for their hospitality throughout the day.

For full event details, please click below.

DBSL Handicap Tournament – Series 3

Semi Finalists: Ivor Fitzpatrick and Tommy Murphy


Semi Finalists: George Murphy and Liam Brady


DBSL Series 3 – Draw and updates

Winner Tommy Murphy
Runner Up George Murphy


Pre-Lim Round
+15 Aaron Holland 0 v 2 Andrew Doherty +20
+28 Tommy Murphy 2 v 0 Fergal Hagen +55
+30 Alan Cusack 1 v 2 Liam Brady +30
+20 Ivor Fitzpatrick 2 v 0 Rob Garvey +59
+65 Pat Smullen 2 v 1 Dave Goddard +54
+28 Daniel Merrigan 1 v 2 Brian O'Rourke +45
+05 George O'Hara 2 v 0 Dylan Carey +25
+35 Kevin O'Brien 0 v 2 George Murphy +32

First Round
+55 Niall Lawless 2 v 0 Andrew Doherty +20
+35 Mick Kearns 0 v 2 George murphy +32
+83 Alex Hooper 0 v 2 Pat Smullen +65
+72 Stephen Byrne Snr 0 v 2 Liam Brady +30
+30 Stephen Byrne Jnr 0 v 2 Ivor Fitzpatrick +20
+49 Tony Kenny 1 v 2 Brian O'Rourke +45
+57 Mark Garvey 1 v 2 George O'Hara +05
+20 Darragh Cusack 1 v 2 Tommy Murphy +28

Quarter Finals
+55 Niall Lawless 0 v 2 George Murphy +32
+65 Pat Smullen 0 v 2 Liam Brady +30
+20 Ivor Fitzpatrick 2 v 0 Brian O'Rourke +45
+05 George O'Hara 1 v 2 Tommy Murphy +28

Semi Finals
+32 George Murphy 2 v 0 Liam Brady +30
+20 Ivor Fitzpatrick 1 v 2 Tommy Murphy +28

+32 George Murphy 0 v 2 Tommy Murphy +28

Event details
Venue: Roadstone
Entrance Fee: 20 Euro entry fee includes table charges.
Format: All matches are best of 3
Handicaps: DBSL handicaps used.
Time: 10.00am Start
Dress code: Trousers and polo neck shirt